Ryan Walters is the only candidate in the race for State Superintendent with a proven record of winning the fight for our strong, conservative agenda.

About Ryan Walters

Ryan Walters taught eight years as a high school history teacher in his hometown at McAlester High School. During his time at MHS, Walters taught Advanced Placement courses in World History, U.S. History and U.S. Government. He also taught on-level history classes, special education classes and Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) classes. The Oklahoma State Department of Education named Walters as an Oklahoma Teacher of the Year Finalist in 2016. Ryan is passionate about the students of Oklahoma and advocating for their immediate and long term successes.

Walters serves today as Secretary of Public Education for the State of Oklahoma, and was named Secretary of Public Education by Governor Kevin Stitt in September of 2020. As Secretary of Education, Walters is responsible for various agencies, boards and commissions, including the State Board of Education, College and University Boards of Regents or Trustees, Office of Educational Quality and Accountability and the State Board of Career and Technology Education.

Walters also serves as Executive Director of Every Kid Counts Oklahoma (EKCO) and simultaneously teaches AP U.S. History at Millwood High School and McAlester High School. As Executive Director of EKCO, he is empowering teachers, parents and community leaders to improve Oklahoma’s education system for all students.

He previously served as the Executive Director of Oklahoma Achieves, an education initiative of the State Chamber of Oklahoma that sought to get the business community more actively engaged in education.

Ryan is a lifelong advocate of improving Oklahoma’s education system and helping every student reach their full potential.

A loving husband to his wife Katie, Ryan has four children — Violet (6), Ella (4), Benjamin (2) and newborn Samuel.



Kevin Stitt


Ted Cruz


Frank Keating

State Senator

Nathan Dahm

Oklahoma State Representatives


Sen. Dave Rader
Sen. Micheal Bergstrom
Sen. Casey Murdock
Sen. Roger Thompson
Sen. Jessica Garvin
Sen. Julie Daniels

State House

Rep. Jon Echols
Rep. Chad Caldwell
Rep. Mark Lepak
Rep. Jim Grego
Rep. Tammy Townley

Conservative Organizations

Oklahoma Conservative Political Action Committee

Join Our Team

How to help
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.